Are You Afraid of Failure?

Every morning my mom sends me the daily “Simply Stated” quote from Real Simple.  The email is usually accompanied with a cute personalized message along the lines of “Oh this one is perfect for you” or “This is so true!”. The quote this morning was:

“If you aren’t failing, You aren’t trying hard enough”

My Mom’s personalized message was, “I’m trying to figure this one out, it could be good”.  It made me stop and internalize what this quote meant to me (mainly because I wanted to explain it to her).  I came to the conclusion that in life, we get so wrapped up in trying to be “successful” and “perfect” that we end up shying away from things that we may fail at.

For example, I’ve been wanting to advance my inversion practice for two years now, but because I don’t want to embarrass myself in class, I tend to not challenge myself. I’m not suggesting you push yourself to the point of endangering those around you (quite the contrary), but there are definitely things I could be doing at home (like this video) to further advance my handstand practice. But because of this fear of failing, I allowed myself to hit a wall, and I stayed in my comfort zone.

Image

What if instead of viewing the actions we aren’t fully comfortable with as failures, we start viewing them as “first try’s”.  Maybe things don’t need to be seen so black and white, or as success and failure.

If we approach our yoga practice this way, maybe a beginner yogi won’t be embarrassed or intimidated to take a more advanced class. And If we approach our life this way, my guess is we’ll find ourselves achieving things we never thought possible.

Think about the first time you ever took a yoga class; could you touch your toes? Did warrior 1 come easy? Did you attempt to get upside down? My question is, are you willing to push yourself out of your comfort zone and risk failure in the attempt to achieve something new?

This quote made me pause and evaluate my own fear of failure, not just in yoga, but in life. Where am I playing it safe and where can I improve? Think about your goals, and what steps you need to take to get there. Yoga and life are about the journey, so focus more on enjoying the ride, rather than simply getting to the destination.

What you are working on!  What challenges are you facing? Let us know in the comment section!

2 thoughts on “Are You Afraid of Failure?

  1. Pingback: Breaking Down the Pose – Bakasana (Crow Pose) |

  2. Pingback: 3 Tricks to Shift into a Positive Mindset |

Leave a Reply

